Big Fat Gypsy Wedding eat your heart out…..

Wedding dress in Torremolinos, 2000

Having promised myself that I would keep perspective about our wedding and not get carried away with the things that really don’t matter, I found myself ordering a pair of mudguards to keep my dress of my wheels. Not something that most brides have to think about but, as I continue reminding people, I am NOT ‘most brides’!

So having ordered, at huge expense, a pair of mudguards for my chair I found myself at Gerald Simmonds – where I have been getting my wheelchairs from since I was 17 – to have them fitted. Only they had ordered the wrong ones and they don’t fit.

I could have been annoyed since it is a bit of trek to go over there however, on this occasion, I had to see the positive side of them getting it wrong. You see, what I hadn’t realised was that the mudguards actually sit quite far off the wheel. Which in turn would have meant that the dress would have been elevated up each side. Which would have resulted in it looking like I was wearing a meringue. And as surprising as it may seem, that is not the look I am going for on my wedding day.

Disregarding this pair of mudguards, they are now ordering another pair which are cheaper and which they are going to cut down and re-work to ensure that they sit low over my wheels. Very low indeed. So low, that the ‘m’ word can’t possibly be used!

And hopefully, they will arrive in time. 19 days and counting. Watch this space…..

Leave a comment