The secrets of the bride……

download 251-mz

Ta da!!!! Today I picked up my wedding dress and I am chuffed to bits. From first being measured back in January, choosing material, a zillion fittings to picking up the finished article today – it’s been amazing. Utterly amazing.

I have been very lucky in that Sharon Cunningham, a top wedding dress designer, who just happens to be a close family friend, has made my wedding dress. Having looked at off the peg dresses I realised it was going to be hard to find one that I not only liked but also that fitted so I called Sharon for advice. The call ended with Sharon offering to make my dress for me – an offer I clearly couldn’t refuse.

Not only is she an amazing designer she makes the whole experience so wonderful – never making one feel anything less than totally fabulous.

For my final fitting, Jane came with me. Not just to share the experience but also as she has the oh so precious task of getting me into my dress. No easy feat, I tell you. For any bride, it is a challenge putting on a wedding dress however when you can’t stand up – there are additional challenges.

Sitting on the piano stool, the dress was lowered over me. Sharon then showed Jane how to fasten it – inside and out – without me loosing my balance and ending up in a crumpled heap on the floor. I then manoeuvred back into my chair, again working hard not to over balance. And then before I could wheel to admire myself in the mirror, we placed sheets over my wheels so as not to ruin the dress!

But it’s all very well getting it on. At the end of our day, it is Michael that is going to have to help me to get out of it. Not so easy for any guy, particularly one who will have consumed vast quantities of fizz.

Leave a comment